Around the world

Al-Aqsa Mosque

Al-Aqsa Mosque is not just a building with a lead or golden dome, but rather the whole walled square semi-rectangular and most of it is exposed, located above the Moriah Hill in the southeastern corner of the Old City of Jerusalem, and it is the name of all the mosques in it, which include the Al-Qibli Mosque with a lead dome, the Marwani prayer hall, and the Gate of Mercy The Dome of the Rock is golden in color.

Origin of naming Al-Aqsa Mosque: –

Al-Aqsa Mosque, which means the farthest from the distance between it and the Grand Mosque.

Bayt Al-Maqdis, which is the name that was known before it was called “Al-Aqsa Mosque” in the Holy Qur’an

The Al-Aqsa Mosque includes several chapels and other domes, its canals, ablutions, wells, terraces, niches, corridors, schools, and several landmarks of 200 landmarks located within the square bounded by the wall of the Al-Aqsa Mosque. It is the second mosque placed on the earth after the Grand Mosque for forty years without being a synagogue or temple before it. It is the third of the mosques to which the travelers in Islam are attracted, and the first qiblah, and to him is my family with the Prophet Muhammad (may God bless him and grant him peace), and from it he began his journey to heaven, and in it the mother of the prophets, and it is the blessed mosque around it, and housing in his land is a bond until the Day of Judgment.

Minarets of Al-Aqsa Mosque: –

• The Mughrabi Gate minaret

• Bab al-Silsila minaret

• Lions Gate minaret

• The Bab al-Ghawanimah minaret

The domes of Al-Aqsa Mosque: –

• Dome of the Rock

• Grammatical dome

• The Dome of the Souls

• The Dome of the Chain

• Solomon’s Dome

• Al-Khidr Dome

• The dome of the Mi’raj

• The Dome of Al-Mizan

• Yusuf Agha Dome

• The Dome of Musa

• Dome of the Prophet

• Yusuf Dome

• Dome of the Prophet’s Lovers

•The dome of Sheikh Al-Khalili

The doors of Al-Aqsa Mosque: –

Al-Aqsa Mosque has fifteen gates, only ten of them are open, and they are:

1. Lions Gate

2. Bab Hutta

3. The blackout door

4. Bab al-Ghawanimah

5. The door of the beholder

6. Bab AlHadeed

7. Bab Al-Qattaneen

8. Bab AlMutaherah

9. The door of the chain

10. The Mughrabi Gate

The rest of the closed doors are:

1. Single door

2. Triple door

3. Double door

4. The Golden Gate (Gate of Mercy)

5. The funeral door

The area of ​​the blessed Al-Aqsa Mosque is 144 thousand square meters, and it is likely that Adam, peace be upon him, was the first to build it and lived after him by the prophets, including Ibrahim, peace be upon him, who also renewed the construction of the Grand Mosque, and among them is Solomon, peace be upon him, who renewed the construction of the blessed Al-Aqsa Mosque and called for those who prayed in it. After the Islamic conquest in 636 AD (15 AH), Umar ibn al-Khattab, may God be pleased with him, built a mosque at the top of the blessed Al-Aqsa Mosque in a location believed to be the same as the Al-Qibli Mosque (the main prayer hall in the Al-Aqsa Mosque). During the Umayyad era, the Dome of the Rock was built as well as the Al-Qibli Mosque, and this took nearly 30 years (66 AH-96 AH). In later eras, the Muslims took care of the reconstruction, restoration and construction of the Al-Aqsa Mosque until it was completed in its current final form.

Misconceptions: –

Many call the Al-Haram al-Maqdis to the Al-Aqsa Mosque, and the al-Aqsa Mosque to be called the al-Qibli mosque , Because this means limiting al-Aqsa to a small part of it and considering its surroundings as mere forbidden, which makes it easy to neglect it, just as al-Aqsa is not a sanctuary in the legal sense, such as the sanctuaries of Mecca and Medina.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button