Around the world

Countries of the continent of Africa .

The vast African Continent is often divided into five major geographic regions. These regions are also known as sub-regions. Each region has its unique climatic and bio-geographic characteristics. The culture and economic activities of the people living in the various sub-regions also vary from one region to the other.

. Southern Africa

The Southern region of Africa lies in the southernmost part of the continent, as the name implies. It is a region of diverse people and cultures. Countries in this region comprise of South Africa, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Swaziland, Namibia, Mozambique, Malawi, Lesotho, Botswana, and Angola. The region’s terrain ranges from grasslands and deserts to forests. The altitude also varies from high mountains to coastal regions of low altitude. South Africa is the most powerful country in the region, both politically and economically.

.  East Africa

This sub-region is also known as Eastern Africa, and it occupies the eastern region of the massive African continent. The region is comprised of Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, Rwanda and South Sudan. These six states make up the East African Community. The four countries that lie in the Horn of Africa namely, Somalia, Ethiopia, Eritrea, and Djibouti, also lie in the region. Other countries include the island nations of Mauritius, Seychelles, and Comoros, all found in the Indian Ocean and two overseas territories of France which also lie in the Ocean. These two territories are Mayotte and Réunion.

.  Equatorial Africa

Six African nations make up the Equatorial region. These countries are Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Central African Republic (CAR), the Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, and Gabon. Tropical rainforests are a dominant physical characteristic of the region. The world’s fifth longest river, the Zaire River, passes through the region. It is also the second most voluminous river in the world after Amazon River. It is the least populated region in Africa. The inhabitants of the equatorial region speak a variety of ethnic languages, and the most practiced religions are Christianity and Islam.

.  West Africa

West Africa is a vast region on the westerly part of the African continent. As at 2016, the population of West Africa was approximately 362 million people. There are 18 countries in the region, all occupying a total area of 5,112,903 km2. These countries are Togo, Sierra Leone, Senegal, Nigeria, Niger, Mauritania, Mali, Liberia, Ivory Coast, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Ghana, Gambia, Burkina Faso, and Benin and three island nations namely Cape Verde, Sāo Tomé and Principe, and Saint Helena, which is an overseas territory of the British. Majority of the population in West Africa practice Islam.

.  The African Transition Zone

The other name for this region found in the Northern part of the African Continent is Sahel. The region lies between the Sahara Desert and the equatorial region of Central Africa. The African Zone cuts across ten countries. These countries, from East to west are Eritrea, Sudan, Chad, Nigeria, Niger, Burkina Faso, Mali, Mauritania, Gambia, and Senegal. The total area covered by the region is 1,178,850 square miles and its distance from the Atlantic Ocean to the Red Sea is 3,360 miles.

.  Countries Of North Africa

North Africa refers to a group of countries and territories occupying the northerly region of the African continent. In most cases, the term defines to the portion of the continent that is encompassed by the Red Sea to the East, the Suez Canal, and the Atlantic shores of Morocco to the West. The countries include Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, and Egypt. The first three countries are also referred to as the Maghreb. The people of North Africa are predominantly Muslim, and their primary language is Arabic. The Sahara Desert cuts across the southern portion of the region, separating the North from other Sub-Saharan African countries.

References :

The Regions Of Africa/

Countries Of North Africa//

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button