Around the world

Seven continents of the world.

A continent is usually defined as a very large land mass, surrounded on all sides (or nearly) by water and containing a number of nation-states. However, when it comes to the number of continents on Earth, experts don’t always agree. Depending on the criteria used, there may be five, six, or seven continents.

Determine the continent

The Geology Glossary, published by the American Institute of Geosciences, defines the continent as “one of the major land masses on Earth, including the drylands and continental shelf”.

There are seven continents:

North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Antarctica. Every continent is extremely diverse.


Asia is the largest continent in the world in terms of population and land area. Asia comprises 30% of the world’s land area, bordered by the Pacific Ocean to the east, the Arctic Ocean to the north, the Indian Ocean to the south, and Europe to the west.

It is connected to the main landmass of Europe, with somewhat defined borders through the Ural Mountains running through Russia and the Bosphorus strait running through Turkey.About 60% of the world’s population lives in Asia.


Africa is the second largest continent in the world in terms of land area and population, after Asia. The equator line passes through Africa in the middle of the continent. About a third of Africa is located in the Southern Hemisphere. Africa makes up about 20% of the total land area in the world. The Indian Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the Mediterranean Sea, and the Red Sea all surround Africa from the east, west and north respectively.


Europe is the third largest continent in the world by population and the sixth largest continent by land area. Despite its physical connection to Asia, Europe has historically been considered a separate continent due to cultural and linguistic differences. It is generally believed that the Ural Mountains and the Caucasus are the eastern borders of Europe. Other borders of Europe include the Black Sea and the Mediterranean Sea to the south, the Arctic Ocean to the north, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. Europe is home to more than 10% of the world’s population.

North America continent

North America is the third largest continent in the world by area.In terms of population, it is the fourth largest country. North America is sometimes considered the American subcontinent, and is found entirely in the northern hemisphere and bordered by the Arctic Ocean to the north, the Atlantic Ocean to the east, the Pacific Ocean to the west, and South America to the south. North America is home to the longest land border in the world, which is shared by Canada and the United States.

It stretches from the Aleutian Islands in Alaska, which extends to the maritime border with Russia, all the way to the small isthmus of Panama, and all the way to Greenland off the east coast of Canada.

The largest river in North America is the Mississippi River, and the highest mountain peak is Denali, Alaska. The plant and animal biodiversity in North America is under threat due to the environmental crisis, in particular the expansion of oil exploration and the use of fracking to extract hard-to-reach oil.

South America

South America is the fourth largest continent in the world by area, and the third largest continent in the world by population. It is located mostly in the southern hemisphere, except for a small area in the northern part of the continent. It is found entirely in the Western Hemisphere. South America is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean on the east, the Pacific Ocean on the west, the Southern Ocean on the south, and North America on the north.

The Andes Mountains in the west dominate the landscape of South America, which make up the longest mountain range in the world. The Amazon rainforest is not only the largest rainforest in the world, but it is also the most diverse rainforest in the world. It dominates the center of the continent and is fed by the Amazon River, which has long been considered the second longest river in the world but may in fact be the longest. Rainforests are surrounded by highlands, and dry coastal plains cover most of the west. In contrast to the Amazon rainforest is Chile’s Atacama Desert, the world’s driest desert. It is so dry that there are very few bacteria and fungi there.

The continent of Australia

Australia is the smallest continent in the world and the second least populated. The term Oceania is also used to describe this region in order to distinguish it from the country of Australia. However, Oceania is not a continent but rather a continental group. The term Australasia is sometimes used to refer to this region. Countries included in the Australian continent include Australia, Papua New Guinea and parts of Indonesia.


Antarctica lies at the South Pole, and it has neither permanent inhabitants nor states. It is reserved for use as a scientific basis. Antarctica is the fifth largest continent by land area, and the least densely populated continent. Antarctica is an island, which is completely surrounded by the Southern Ocean.


What are the 7 Continents of the World?

How Many Continents Are There? By Matt Rosenberg

Continents Of The World world atlas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button