Around the world

South Asian countries .

South Asia (Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bhutan, Nepal, The Maldives)

South Asia has a peninsula-like shape that is bordered by three bodies of water: the Indian Ocean to the south, the Bay of Bengal to the east, and the Arabian Sea to the west. The region includes Indian subcontinent and surrounding countries. South Asia is politically divided into eight autonomous countries: Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bhutan, Nepal, and the Maldives. The region covers a total area of roughly two million square miles and has a population size of more than 1.74 billion, which is nearly a quarter of the global population. Additionally, South Asia has the distinction of being the most densely populated area in the world.

_ India :

India is the second-most populous country in the world with 1.3B people, coming in second only to China. Despite falling birthrates in the country, India is expected to overtake China in population by 2028.

India is largely English-speaking country, although there are 22 languages in total that are spoken there.

80% of Indians are Hindu, however, all religions can be found in India. Religion is nearly universal here, with less than 2% of the population identifying as atheist.


the country is a part of the historic region of Bengal, and sits on the Bay of Bengal. Approximately 1.6M people call Bangladesh home, with nearly 90% of those identifying as Muslim. Hinduism comes in a far second for religious practice in Bangladesh with under 10% of the population identifying as Hindu.


Bhutan is a country with a fascinating history and rich cultural roots. Ruled by a Buddhist monarchy, Bhutan evolved largely cut off from the world. The country is landlocked and remote, surrounded by India and Tibet

. _Maldives:

The Maldives are an extremely unique grouping of islands that officially make up the Republic of Bhutan, which is 99% water. The island nation sits off the coast of India in the Indian Ocean and is spread between 1,192 islands grouped into 26 atolls that are home to only half a million people.

Continuing the Maldives collection of unique positions in the world, it is the most low-lying and flattest nation, the smallest Mulsim state, and the smallest country in Asia.


Nepal is a landlocked sovereign nation, strategically located between China and India. Nepal is located in Southern Asia in the Northern and eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Nepal shares its borders with the Indian States of Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal and Sikkim in the south, east and west; while it is bordered by China in the north. Nepal is separated from Bhutan by Sikkim. At the south eastern edge of Nepal, lies the independent nation of Bangladesh. Nepal contains 8 of the world’s 10 highest mountain peaks including, Mount Everest and Kanchenjunga.

Nepal, with an area of ​​147,516 square kilometers, is a small country in South Asia. Despite its size, Nepal is widely diversified in terms of terrain.


Pakistan is a sovereign country in Southern Asia, located both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. It borders four countries. Pakistan shares an eastern border with India, a north eastern border with China, a south western border with Iran and a western and northern border with Afghanistan The Arabian Sea and the Gulf of Oman border Pakistan to the south.

Pakistan occupies an area of 881,913 in South Asia. Located at the juncture of the Indian and Eurasian plates, the country is highly prone to earthquakes due to plate tectonics.

_Sri Lanka:

Sri Lanka is an island country in Southern Asia. It is situated both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Sri Lanka is located in the Indian Ocean, to the south west of Bay of Bengal and to the south east of the Arabian Sea. It is separated from the peninsular Indian subcontinent by the Gulf of Mannar and the Palk Strait. Sri Lanka shares its maritime borders with India and Maldives.

Sri Lanka is an island found off the southeast tip of Indian, in the Indian Ocean. Its primary sources of profit are agriculture (including tea and rice), textiles and apparel, and tea export. and has an area of 65,610 sq. km.

_Afghanistan :

Afghanistan is a landlocked country in South Asia, with a rich cultural history despite being nearly constantly embroiled in conflict. The nation is bordered by Iran, Pakistan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, and China.

The capital city and most populous area in Afghanistan is Kabul, the two official languages are Pashto and Dari, and the currency is an Afghani (not to be confused with Afghans, which is the name for the people of Afghanistan).

References :

What Are The Five Regions Of Asia?

The Countries Of South Asia//

Maps of Nepal/

Maps of Pakistan/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button